Accents Like/Dislike ? (1 Viewer)

bringbackrattles

My sons ex girlfriend was in the pub with her new bloke at the weekend,and we got chatting over a drink. He's Glaswegian and a decent bloke but I couldn't understand a word he said ! All I could do was just smile and nod now and then when he spoke before I shot off.
And also a couple of Indian lads who I talk football with are also at times hard to understand as their accent is a mixture of Cov and Indian. Then again it got me thinking maybe the Glasgow bloke didn't understand me ! What accents do you struggle with ?

olderskyblue

One of my best pals when I was an apprentice was a Scot's lad. Could understand him fine, but when I went round his house, he used to have to translate what his older brother was saying...

Houchens Head

Fairly well known member from Malvern
A strong Glaswegian accent sounds like a totally foreign language to me! Also can't stand Black Country accent.

Ranjit Bhurpa

Know what you mean BBR.
Once took a call from a Glaswegian customer, and this is how I heard the call....
'Is Carol there?'
'Pardon, who are asking for'
'Carol'
'I'm sorry but we don't have a Carol'
'Yes you do, I need to speak to Carol'
'Well we have an Emma, Janet, Maxine, Lindsay and a Dawn. But no-one called Carol'
'Oh yes you do, it's Carol spelt C-A-R-L, I spoke to him yesterday'

Cringeworthy moment. That said, I could listed to a female Glaswegian or Edinburgh accent all day long. Very seductive, might not understand it all but very seductive.

NorthernWisdom

Used to have to have phone conversations with my mate from Mid Wales twice, the first time to get my eye in with the accent, the second to actually understand him!

Wasn't sure in Newcastle if the barman was telling me how much my pint cost, or as offering to fight me.

Rab C Nesbitt I tried with subtitles, shame they spelt the subtitles as per the accent, so was still none the wiser.

Houchens Head

Know what you mean BBR.