Broadband

Discussion in 'Technical Support / Computing / Gaming' started by Marty, Oct 20, 2016.

  1. Pipehitterz

    Pipehitterz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    347
    Yeah I know. it was so surprising that someone actually sorted it all out in one simple call.
    We were amazed too
     
  2. Nathccfc

    Nathccfc Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    32
    Just signed up to sky fibre Max, well see how that goes. Been longing for fast fibre broadband for ages, as my current service is terrible. Cannot have 2 people using Wi-Fi at the same time, it would slow things right down. However found out that because I have a lot of devices connected to it, ie, TV, sky box, phones, laptop, iPad and external hard-drive it was bringing the bandwich down.

    On this matter, does any one use a Ethernet switch at home? Or can recommend one which will balance bandwich?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  3. aloisiwouldhavescored

    aloisiwouldhavescored Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    11
    Have been with BT for ever it seems for broadband and landline. Both are due for renewal at the end of the year and have been looking around for new deals as they are putting up their prices yet again. Got offered a decent deal from Vodafone which would save me about £16.00 per month and give me double the speed. Anyone had any experience with Vodafone? Also looking at PlusNet now as per some of the posts above.
     
  4. rd45

    rd45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    132
    I've got a four port switch under the telly. The tv, bluray, pvr & ps4 all have wired connections to it. Then there's an ethernet cable running from the switch to the router that I got from plusnet. Plus a couple of other things plugged into the back of the router - which has four ports of its own.

    I'm not doing anything to manage the bandwidth though. I've had the switch for years - from when my wifi was rubbish & didnt reach all over the house. I've got about the same number & kind of devices as you - some wired, some wifi. Probably if I was spanking them all at the same time it would slow things down, but in reality it's not a problem. I'd say you'll be ok once you get fibre, as long as your wifi router itself is man enough. Power line ethernet might also be worth looking at if you've got a couple of bigger devices that hog bandwidth.
     
  5. Nick

    Nick Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    59,312
    Likes Received:
    16,465
    Think I have about 3. Just unmanaged ones.

    What do you want it to do to balance?
     
  6. Otis

    Otis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    40,724
    Likes Received:
    21,029
    I'm with Virgin. It is expensive, but the best broadband by far I think.

    Sent from my Hudl 2 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Nathccfc

    Nathccfc Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    32
    To be honest actually thinking about it. You'll be right, not everything will be on draining bandwich at the same time. I just want something which will make the devices they are connected to work as best as possible. I am getting the new sky q internet hub which for some strange reason only has 2 Ethernet ports, so I'm going to need to sort one out soon. Can anyone recommend one?

    How about something like this?
    http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/comput...008d-8-port-ethernet-switch-10137897-pdt.html

    I've counted and I've got at least 5 to connect up.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  8. Nathccfc

    Nathccfc Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    32
    If virgin was available in my area, it would be a no brained so had to settle for sky fibre Max. They bought the price down for it, because I was actually going to leave because of the shit normal broadband service.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
    Otis likes this.
  9. rd45

    rd45 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    132
    Looks ok. Hard to go that far wrong, they're very simple. Remember you'll need one port for the uplink - but that still gives you seven to play with. Don't overpay for the cables - eBay should sort you out.
     
  10. dutchman

    dutchman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    378
    The problem with Talk Talk and every other service provider except Virgin is that they rent their lines from BT wholesale. That means if the line goes wrong you first have to contact your service provider who then have to contact BT Openreach who frankly couldn't give a stuff about anyone except BT customers.

    PlusNet is a slight exception as they are wholly owned by BT so can get the lines fixed quicker than any other BT reseller.

    If you're on copper wire you're screwed both ways because BT couldn't be bothered maintaining them any more. The line is so bad where I live (only a short distance from the exchange) that I've had to drop my router to half-speed mode to make a reliable connection.
     
  11. Nick

    Nick Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    59,312
    Likes Received:
    16,465
    Use Bt Infinity at the minute, never really had issues apart from a drink going in the router.

    Plusnet adverts do my head in, couldn't care about them helping a man cross the road, make sure my internet is up and I would never ring you anyway!
     
  12. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    171
    Got my broadband switched today. Vodaphone are adamant they have someone at the exchange doing. I was stood next to it and said no one was there and they needed to resend the engineer as he fucked it up but it looks like the invisible man is doing it for me. Oh well. Another phone call tomorrow. At least their customer service seems pritty good so far.
     
  13. oscillatewildly

    oscillatewildly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    202
    For anybody else on the verge of switching provider, I'd like to put the boot in on talktalk also. Just read a posters experience involving court/bailiff threats and it echoed a similar experience we had 10 years ago or so. 'Switch on' dates came and passed without any result, phone calls made and reassurance from the other end of new dates also failed to deliver, all this while we were paying monthly DD. We cancelled DD payments after two months and then the 'fun' began. The threatening letters from bailiffs only stopped once we contacted citizens advice and were able to talk to a talktalk rep (a seemingly educated managerial type) who amazingly acknowledged the 'service' we hadn't received. He couldn't apologise enough but the damage was done - I will never use that company again under any circumstance.
    On a brighter note, recently switched from BT (really good service but so expensive with constant hikes and extra payments for 'over usage') and hooked up with sky (broadband and phone only) No complaints so far and so much cheaper.
    Just to reiterate - Don't go anywhere near talktalk!
     
  14. aloisiwouldhavescored

    aloisiwouldhavescored Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes unfortunately we can't get Virgin in our area either as have heard good things about their broadband. So it's between Vodafone and PlusNet at the moment.
     
  15. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    171
    Vodafone have been excellent so far.
     
  16. Captain Dart

    Captain Dart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    1,473
    Plusnet did not impress me, I left them about 8 years ago when they failed to fix my service which had inexplicably dropped from a decent level to a crawl even though I'm barely 500m from the local exchange and I hadn't done anything. Switched supplier (to Talktalk then) and rate improved from 1Mb to 12Mb, that was on their cheapest tariff too! I quit Talktalk when they were hacked, didn't fancy risk. :bucktooth:
     
  17. Nick

    Nick Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    59,312
    Likes Received:
    16,465
    Yes, but they will help you cross a road or give you directions by sending an annoying northern bloke trying to be Jason Manford.
     
    wingy likes this.
  18. dutchman

    dutchman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    378
    I suspect you got out just in time? Their customer service has deteriorated severely since then and prices gone up.
     
  19. stupot07

    stupot07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    22,133
    Likes Received:
    6,569
    Yeah Virgin is fast, but they are robbing b*****ds, and the router can drop out sometimes. Looked online and there seems to be a common problem with the router. My virgin box has started having problems too. I really need to ring up, complain and threaten to leave.

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  20. Otis

    Otis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    40,724
    Likes Received:
    21,029
    We don't get that.

    We had a spell of about 3 weeks where we lost our broadband, but they did identify a cabling problem.

    Besides that we have had no problems at all with them.

    We have 4 mobiles with them, plus TV, home phone and broadband.

    Don't think we would ever switch unless the service really goes downhill.
     
  21. Covstu

    Covstu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,646
    Likes Received:
    696
    My virgin broadband drops off for about 30 secs to a minute then comes back on, it's rather annoying
     
  22. RB1992

    RB1992 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    58
    Fight?
     
    stupot07 likes this.
  23. dutchman

    dutchman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,034
    Likes Received:
    378
    That's the reason I would never want cable as my only internet connection. I would rather keep an old phone line if only to use as a backup in an extreme emergency. The trouble is that Virgin charge an arm and a leg for even the most basic cable connection.
     
  24. Pipehitterz

    Pipehitterz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    347
    Virgin is more expensive but it evens out cuz you don't need the redundant phone line.
    Drop outs? it's the internet, ever service has drop outs so nil argument against there.
    I get ridiculous speeds with my virgin broadband, every, and I mean everyone else's broadband i've ever experienced isn't even in the same league as virgin broadband
     
  25. chiefdave

    chiefdave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    15,054
    Likes Received:
    9,418
    Virgin is certainly fast, and if you pay for the higher speed you can get a lot faster than with other services. The two problems I've experienced with it is massive slow down at peak times and when it goes wrong it goes wrong for a long time. Not uncommon for a whole area to go off and it take them weeks to fix.

    Also in terms of speed its easy to get carried away when you see are looking around and see the speeds offered but always think about how fast you actually need it to be. I've got BT Infinity, the slower of the two Infinity options and I can be streaming HD TV, downloading etc at the same time and its never an issue.
     
    Covstu likes this.
  26. Pipehitterz

    Pipehitterz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    347
    ON the flip of that.
    I've had virgin 4 years in this house - never Gone down for longer than a few seconds
    And as Long as it's been available in my old house, I can remember a couple of times it went down for a day.
    In between my girlfriends talk talk and Sky ( 2 contracts over 3 years) you couldn't even stream the Sky stores downloads
    And my sisters bt and was dreadful.
    Her infinity is okay if you're doing one main thing at a time.
    With virgin I have my Moody Sky box streaming, I am downloading and 2 daughters streaming at any one time.
    I pay 33 quid a month and it rules
     
  27. Nathccfc

    Nathccfc Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    32
    I can give you my review on sky fibre Max once it's up and running, it's activated from the 17th. I know it's a new service from sky, has anyone got it? My guaranteed speed is 65.5. I'll see how that works then?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  28. CCFC88

    CCFC88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    183
    Anyone with EE? Were about to move and thinking about using them.
     
  29. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3,427
    Likes Received:
    171
    Vodafone has been very good so far but not without its issues. The wifi signal isn't the best and can barely reach to the front of my house. My TV on the wall in my bedroom keeps having to reconnect too. Speeds are excellent and you get excatly the speed advertised. Not as good as Virgin but then I'm not paying an arm and a leg for it.
     
  30. Skyblueloyal

    Skyblueloyal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have Sky Fibre Max and have to say I love it I do a lot of work from home and in the 18 months of having it never let me down (yet) speeds are excellent and avaerage is around 71Mbps Down and 18 Up. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. I did have Virgin 200 and moved house but half the time it was only giving me the same as I have now, but had a lot of problems that the reason I went with Sky. Everyone has good and bad experiences. Just do a bit of research of providers and the service in your area.
     
  31. torchomatic

    torchomatic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    20,610
    Likes Received:
    10,116
    We have Virgin 200MB. cable just goes to a box in the house and then connected to the Superhub. Works brilliantly and lightning fast.

    As for speed, never got 200MB DL but just done a speed test and got 178MB.
     
  32. Johnnythespider

    Johnnythespider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    720
    Same as torch, just got 156mb
     
    torchomatic likes this.

Share This Page