Fitness (1 Viewer)

Sky Blues

I was wondering how big a loss our fitness coach will be. When Darren Robinson was here our injury record was good and we proved ourselves capable of winning games at the death,which we hadn't been able to do for a long, long time. I'm guessing the the club will appoint a manager before filling the back room staff positions so we might be without a fitness guru for a while or is there someone who can fill in?

Also, I'm no expert but I'd guess Robinson had fitness plans for each player to follow and I presume they can keep following them. But how often would they need updating etc? Could we limp through to the end of the season on those?

I was just wondering if anyone had any knowledge in this area or thoughts on how it might affect the squad.

Jackoskyblue

Well the fitness programmes would need updating for players who are behind on fitness eg injured at start of season, as the players fitness will improve the programme would need to increase in difficulty to keep them improving. However I would imagine most players at this stage of the season would be at peak (at least should be) so for majority of players they could get through on these programmes. But their motivation to keep sticking at the programme is a factors depends how much influence Robinson had on the players

Sky Blues

Thanks Jacko. You have to assume Carsley will be on at them to keep it up. I think the players (particularly those that have been here a while) will be feeling the benefit and will be keen to keep at it themselves. But if there is no one there to monitor them in the same way I guess it might allow some sly backsliding if any of the players were feeling lazy.

Jackoskyblue