Random help please (1 Viewer)

harvey098

Hi all, I am trying to explain to a friend of mine why I don't think it is right to support wasps. I remember seeing someone post a quote on here from a wasps fan... can anyone point me in the right direction where to find it please. (It was explaining why they wouldn't follow their team to Coventry etc)

JimmyHillsbeard

if you're against a hedge-fund owner taking their franchise team away from their historical city to play their home games miles away then it's a no-brainer....

Similarly if you think that London Wasps being at the Ricoh is harmful to the prospects of Coventry City Football Club or Coventry Rugby Club it's a double no-brainer

harvey098

There is a specific quote im trying to find that was posted on here about a week ago from an original London wasps fan

mark82

Is this the one?

"I have been supporting Wasps for 25 years but will not be following them to Coventry. Absolutely not. Rugby is about comradeship and respect but Wasps have shown absolutely no respect to their supporters. Why would you follow a club that does that on a 80-mile trip up the M1? The club are basically telling the fans who have stood by them all these years that they don’t count anymore.

Rugby teams do not just belong to an owner who buys them; they belong to the community that has created and sustained them over generations. Wasps have now decided to dump the girl they came with and dance with someone else from the Midlands. No one would consider moving Chelsea Football Club up to Birmingham. I don’t know how they think they can do it with a rugby club. Do they think people won’t care?"

hearing one of the voices of the Sky Blue Trust...

Esoterica

Has anyone ever gathered a list of their initial promises towards CCFC, CRFC, the coventry community and the local redevelopment and compared that to what's been achieved?

Buster

Don't think they promised any one anything