Do Otium pass the Fit and Proper person's test? (1 Viewer)

njdlawyer

The Football League / FA may set out rules which suggest a rigorous and ethical approach to the approval of football club owners but Thaksin Shinawatra, Carsen Yeung, the Venkys and all the various Portsmouth owners (to name but a few examples) show those rules to be a complete sham

SkyblueBazza

I thought you might be interested in this: an exploration of Otium and the Football League Rules from a legal perspective.

I'm a law student and created a sports law blog, partly in response to your plight. This is its first post.

http://footylaw.wordpress.com/2013/...w-owners-fail-the-fit-and-proper-person-test/

Now that's what I call a post! Nice one...it sums up all that is wrong in football. Owners (universally) have systematically hidden dealings off-shore, transferred this & that etc to the point that much of what is involved in running a club is totally divorced from the communities they were originally set up for.
If this is acceptable practice in the business world at large - maybe the government needs to 1. react more quickly & decisively toward companies & individuals non-filing of accounts, & 2. Tighten up laws on ownership. The most transparent thing to me in all of this murky stuff is that it seems designed to allow shifting of assets & earnings around to hide from paying their dues in both corporate taxes, & pay increases for workers.

db2013

Something that is very clear to me is that the FL have no regards for there own rules. The companies that own/run the club can not even file returns on time yet they are seen as competent owners. Seriously some one the FL need's to wake up and smell the coffee!.

Very good post njdlawyer I have retweeted and facebooked it, makes for a very intresting read..

Sub

should send that to damien collins the MP that was pushing to find out who SISU investors were :):)

SkyblueBazza