If ever something demonstrates..... (1 Viewer)

fernandopartridge

The council's attitude to business, here it is:

Cllr Lynnette Kelly: “If Friargate takes off then the business rates to the council will be going up by £11m a year. That alone is reason for doing this.”

mark82

Not sure what's wrong with that. £11 million in extra revenue. She is not saying they will put up rates to existing businesses just that a new project will generate £11 million extra income for them.

jimmyhillsfanclub

Not being a Coventry resident myself, I know bugger all about the proposed development....so I just googled it....

...That is some bland back-dated shitty architecture they're proposing.

Terrible.

Jim

Not sure what's wrong with that. £11 million in extra revenue. She is not saying they will put up rates to existing businesses just that a new project will generate £11 million extra income for them.

And therefore be able to provide more services.....

bigfatronssba

Mary_Mungo_Midge

The council's attitude to business, here it is:

I think she said:

"This is the biggest decision the council has had to take in a generation,” Coun Kelly said.

AND....

“I think it’s bigger than building the Ricoh Arena and comparable to the rebuilding of the city centre after World War Two.”

BEFORE ADDING....

“It’s a rationalisation of the council’s property holdings from 27 down to nine. It will enable a more rational way of working and will be cheaper to run."

THEN....

“We know that the council going in there has made other people very interested. We have someone else very interested in coming in with us."

BEFORE....

“It will be a real coup for the city if we get their headquarters here and they are seriously interested"

AND THEN FINALLY....

“If Friargate takes off then the business rates to the council will be going up by £11m a year. That alone is reason for doing this.”